Normally, your bot sends messages immediately in response to user’s actions. In some cases you might need to check up on users later or remind them about something. Sequences give you the option to proactively reach out to users after a certain period of time even if they didn’t interact with the bot.

Sequences can be created in the Automate tab. First, you create a sequence and at least one block in it. Then fill the blocks with content of your choice, and set the amount of time in which sequence blocks will be sent to the subscribed user in the dropdown menu. To start sending sequence messages to users you need to subscribe them to a sequence (see the section below). 

Note that while you’re setting the sequence up and your bot is online, you should keep the timing at OFF for all blocks in it.

To keep your dashboard clean and organised, you can rename the blocks in the sequence and hide the sequence overall by clicking the drawer button.

You can also see the statistics for each broadcasted sequence and each block it contains: the amount of delivered broadcasts, the amount of users who actually saw the broadcast and the click-though rate. The statistics are available for the entire sequence as well as for each individual broadcast in it.

Subscribing users to Sequences

To start sending a sequence to the users you need to subscribe them to it. When you subscribe a user to a sequence the countdown starts for the first message. Users will receive the message in the specified time interval after they were subscribed. Delivery time for subsequent messages will be calculated based on previously received messages in the chain. 

There are two ways to subscribe users to a sequence:

Subscribe to Sequence plugin

There’s a handy plugin called Subscribe to Sequence which let’s you do just that – place it in the required block and simply type in the name of the sequence you want to subscribe the user to. This way you can specify at what point in a conversation with your bot users should start getting delayed messages from the sequence. 

It is also possible to assign different sequences to different groups of people by using the user attribute filter.

Subscribe manually in the people tab — Pro feature

You can subscribe a group of users to a sequence in the People tab.
Filter the users you’d want to subscribe, click on the dropdown and select ‘Subscribe to Sequence’, then choose a sequence from the list. 

Examples

Reminders

You might want your subscribers to do key actions, like uploading necessary documents, providing contact information or booking a time slot for a meeting. There’s a chance they won’t do that. In this case you can set up a simple sequence with one or two messages that remind them to do that in a day or two. 

This sequence is triggered one day after the user is subscribed to it, so you need to subscribe people at the same time you ask them to book a meeting. It checks whether the email is not empty. If the email is set, the user is immediately unsubscribed from the sequence, and the reminder is not sent — everything is ok. Otherwise, a reminder message suggesting to leave an email is send. 

Daily updates

For instance, if you run a competition that consists of several steps, you can create a sequence that sends challenges every day and asks to submit participants’ works. 

Unsubscribing from a sequence

Unsubscribing is only necessary if you want to stop a user from receiving any updates mid-sequence. It is not necessary to unsubscribe a user at the end of a sequence.

Unsubscribing works the same way – there is a plugin for that as well:

Did this answer your question?