There are several types of reengage messages your bot can send to subscribers. It all depends on whether the message was sent within or outside the 24-hour window. Please, keep in mind that Message Tags, One-Time Notification and Sponsored Messages are only available for Facebook Messenger. In this guide, we'll cover:
24-hour messaging window;
Types of messages you can send;
24-hour messaging window
24-hour window is a Facebook policy aimed at preventing businesses from spamming users. The rule is: a business can not send messages to a user after 24 hours since their last interaction. Or simply put, if a user has not send any messages to your bot in the last 24 hours, you are not allowed to message them. Luckily, there are several exceptions to this rule that allow you to send messages to users outside 24-hour window. We’ll discuss them below.
Types of reengage messages
Any message your bot sends to your users always falls into two categories: messages within 24-hour messaging window and messages outside 24-hour messaging window. Messages within 24-hour window are called Standard messages. Such messages can be of any type: informational ones, promotional ones, etc. For messages outside 24-hour window only these types are allowed:
Messages with a Message Tag;
Message Tags let you send important and personally relevant updates to users outside the 24-hour window. Only 4 message tags are allowed:
Confirmed Event Update – send reminders or updates for an event users have registered for. This tag may be used for upcoming events and events in progress.
Post Purchase Update – notify users of an update on a recent purchase.
Account Update – send notifications about a non-recurring change to their application or account.
Non-Promotional Subscription – send non-promotional messages. Only for verified News Pages.
For complete details on allowed use cases, see the list of supported Message Tags. Using Message Tags for other use cases may result in Facebook account restrictions.
One-Time Notification lets you send one follow-up message after 24-hour messaging window has ended. In order to send this notification you will first need to subscribe a user within the 24-hour messaging window.
Here’s a basic idea of how you might use it: user finishes Flow → bot sends a message asking to subscribe to One-Time Notification → user gives consent → bot can now send a single One-Time Notification outside 24-hour window. Read this guide to learn more about how to access and use One-Time Notification.
📌 One-Time Notification will not work if:
The Facebook page connected to your bot is based in Europe and/or Japan;
The Facebook page connected to your bot has admin(s) in Europe and/or Japan;
Your Facebook Messenger bot interacts or will interact with any users based in Europe and/or Japan.
Sponsored Messages are paid ads you can send to existing customers. This means that Sponsored Messages can only be sent to people who have previously interacted with your bot. Their purpose is to reengage inactive bot users, or to make an important announcement to all (or a certain segment of) your bot users. Follow our Sponsored Message guide to set them up.
You can find more details in this Messenger Platform Policy Overview.